The Nobel Prize in Physics goes to quantum researchers from Austria, France and the United States

Updated on 04/10/2022 at 12:05

  • An Austrian, a Frenchman and an American will receive the Nobel Prize in physics this year.
  • Anton Zeilinger, Alain Aspect and John F. Clauser are experts in quantum research.
  • This year’s prize is endowed with around 920,000 euros.

You can find more current news here

This year’s Nobel Prize in Physics goes to Alain Aspect from France, John F. Clauser from America and Anton Zeilinger from Austria for research in quantum physics. This was announced Tuesday by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm.

The researchers conducted groundbreaking experiments with entangled quantum states, in which two particles behave as one even when they are separated. The results paved the way for new technologies based on quantum information. The most important prize for physicists this year is endowed with a total of ten million crowns (about 920,000 euros).

To date 218 researchers have been awarded

Since it was first awarded in 1901, 4 female and 214 male researchers have received the Nobel Prize in Physics – one of them, American John Bardeen, even twice.

On Monday the Nobel Prize in Medicine and Physiology was awarded to Swedish researcher Svante Pääbo, who works in Leipzig, for his discoveries on human evolution. Among other things, he was the first scientist to sequence the Neanderthal genome.

The award went to the Germans last year

Last year, Hamburg meteorologist Klaus Hasselmann and Japanese-born American Syukuro Manabe received half of the Nobel Prize in physics. Both have provided a solid physical foundation for our knowledge of climate change. The other half went to the Italian Giorgio Parisi for his work on understanding complex systems.

The winners of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry will be announced on Wednesday. Announcements for the Nobel Prize for Literature and Peace will follow on Thursday and Friday. The round ends next Monday with the Nobel Prize in Economics donated by the Swedish Reichsbank.

The award ceremony traditionally takes place on December 10, the anniversary of the death of donor Alfred Nobel. (dpa / fabulous)

Swedish scientist Svante Pääbo, who works in Leipzig, sequenced, among other things, the Neanderthal genome and thus disproved the belief that there was no connection between modern humans and Neanderthals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *